Command Staff

Jon Bruen – Fire Chieffire

Chief Bruen was appointed to the position of Fire Chief in January of 2014. Chief Bruen is responsible for the daily operations of the Fire Department. He has an extensive history as a member of fire departments in Maine and Iowa. Chief Bruen is dedicated to providing the best service possible to the residents of the community.

Mike Peterson – EMS Chief

Chief Peterson currently serves in charge of Emergency Medical Services. Chief Peterson is a certified Iowa Emergency Medical Technician.

Jermey Feldman – Assistant Chief Fire & EMS

Assistant Chief Feldman currently serves as the Assistant Fire Chief in charge of EMS Operations. Assistant Chief Feldman is an Iowa Certified Paramedic and is also in charge of special operations within the department. He serves as a full-time Des Moines firefighter paramedic and has multiple certifications in fire operations.

Troy Schultzen – Fire Captain

Captain Schultzen currently serves as the Captain in Charge of Fire Operations  and is an Iowa certified Emergency Medical Technician. Captain Schultzen is also a certified fire instructor and has multiple certifications in fire operations to include Firefighter 1, Firefighter 2, and Firefighter 3.

Todd Pollard – Lt. Fire & EMS

Lt. Pollard currently serves as a first line supervisor for EMS personnel and assists as a first line supervisor with fire personnel. He is an Iowa Certified Emergency Medical Technician.

Bob Carr – Fire Lt.

Lt. Carr is a 40 year member of the Van Meter Fire Department and serves as the senior Lieutenant.

Chris Power – Fire Lt.

Lt. Power currently serves as a first line supervisor for fire personnel and assists as a supervisor for EMS. He is an Iowa Certified Emergency Medical Technician. He is also Firefighter 1 Certified.


Van Meter Fire & Rescue personnel from left to right:

Bill DaggettDirector of Public Safety-Police Chief
Derek BollesPublic Safety Officer
Chris BoswellPublic Safety Officer
Michael BrownFirefighter/EMT
Jon BruenFire Chief
Darin CappsFirefighter
Robert CarrLieutenant
Jermey FeldmanAsst. Fire Chief
Kendra HicksEmergency Service
Shelly JamesFirst Responder
Elizabeth JunkerFirefighter/EMT
Drew KendallFirefighter
Ben OlsonFirefighter
Michael PetersonCaptain EMS-Sr. Public Safety Officer
Todd PollardLieutenant/EMT
Chris PowerLieutenant/EMR
Christi PowerEmergency Service Support Staff
Dashel RossFirefighter/EMT
Jacob SteelmanFirefighter
John Wise Scene Support